Ultrashort High-Energy Radiation and Matter 2003



Starts 7 Oct 2003
Ends 10 Oct 2003
International Conference

International Workshop on
Ultrashort High-Energy Radiation and Matter
Villa Monastero, Varenna (Italy). October 7 – 10, 2003


  • “Piero Caldirola” International Centre for the Promotion of Science and International School of Plasma Physics, Milano, Italy
  • Università di Milano-Bicocca, Milano, Italy
  • The workshop is intended as a forum to discuss the latest experimental, theoretical and computational results related to the interaction of high energy radiation with matter. High energy is intended to mean soft x-ray and beyond, but important new results from visible systems will be incorporeted. The workshop will be interdisciplinary amongst scientists from many fields, including: plasma physics, x-ray physics and optics, solid state physics and material science; biology; quantum optics. Topics will include, among other subjects:
  • Understanding damage thresholds for x-ray interaction with matter
  • Developing ~ 5 keV x-ray sources to investigate damage
  • Developing ~ 100 keV Thomson sources for material studies
  • Developing short pulse (100 fs and less) x-ray diagnostics
  • Developing novel X-ray optics
  • Developing models for the response of biooogical samples to ultra intense, sub ps x-rays high energy radiation


A.Wootton, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, USA
D.Batani, University of Milano Bicocca, Italy


Scientific Committee

Rene Bakker, Sincrotrone Trieste, Italy
Dimitri Batani, University of M ilano Bicocca, Italy
Michel Belakhovsky, CEA-Grenoble, France
Thomas Brabec, University of Ottawa ,Canada
Sandro De Silvestri, Politecnmico di Milano, Italy
Louis DiMauro, Brookhaven National Laboratory, USA
Todd Ditmire, University of Texas, USA
Anatoly Faenov, Nat.Res.Inst. Phys. Measurements, Moscow, Russia
Ernst Fill MPQ, Garching, Germany
Antonio Giulietti, CNR, Pisa, Italy
Janos Hajdu, Biomedical Center, Uppsala, Sweden
Dieter Hoffmann, GSI Darmstadt, Germany
Charles Joachain, Universite’ Libre de Bruxelles, Belgium
Cristina Lenardi, University of Milano, Italy
Maurizio Lontano, IFP, CNR, Milano, Italy
Victor Malka, LOA – ENSTA Palaiseau, France
Sergio Martellucci, University of Roma “Tor Vergata”, Italy
José Tito Mendonça, Instituto Superior Tecnico, Lisbon, Portugal
Juergen Meyer-ter-Vehn, MPQ, Garching, Germany
David Meyerhoffer, University of Rochester, USA
Alan Michette, King’s College, London, UK
Kazutaka Nakamura, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan
Piergiorgio Nicolosi,  University of Padova, Italy
Luigi Palumbo, University of Roma “La Sapienza”
Francesco Pegoraro, University of Pisa, Italy
Armando Reale, University of L’Aquila, Italy
Marcus Roth, GSI Darmstadt, Germany
Antoine Rousse, LOA – ENSTA Palaiseau, France
Wolfang Sandner, Max-Born-Institut, Berlin, Germany
Elio Sindoni, University of M ilano Bicocca and ISPP, Italy
Thomas Tschentscher, Hasylab, DESY, Hamburg, Germany
Alan Wootton, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, USA


Local Organizing Committee

  • Batani, University of M ilano Bicocca, Italy
  • Desai, University of M ilano Bicocca, Italy
  • Strati, University of M ilano Bicocca, Italy
  • Lontano, IFP, CNR, Milano, Italy
  • Pifferetti, ISSP, Italy
  • Sindoni, University of Milano Bicocca and ISPP, Italy

Scientific Information:

Batani, University of Milano Bicocca

Logistical Information:
Pifferetti, ISPP